I Dare You | Book Tag

Whoa guys, so i haven’t posted on here in far too long! I went through a really hard time recently and my bookish-life suffered for it. But nevertheless, I am here now and I am ready to try my absolute best to stay on top of my bookstagram and blog. I work in an office all to myself now so I’ll have so much quiet time to myself to work on all of my book-related escapades.

Now, into the tag! I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do this, but I saw my lovely friend Danielle do it over on her blog! So click on her name to see her answers for this tag. Thanks for the inspiration, Dani!

RULES:
You must be honest
You must answer all the questions
You must tag at least 4 people

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

Hmmm, I cannot think exactly what book has been on my shelf the longest but the first one I can remember would probably be The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

I am currently reading City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, as I just finished City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. Next I plan on reading Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy and Lady Midnight, also by Cassandra Clare.

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Well, I can’t say I hated it because I didn’t finish any of them but every John Green book I have tried to read has resulted in me getting 50 pages in, getting bored, and leaving it behind. Sorry to anyone who loves them, but I just couldn’t get into them!

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

One that comes to mind right off the bat is Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I love Rainbow’s YA novels, but I just don’t see myself ever picking this one up.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

I’m not saving any of them! I’ll probably just re-read by favorites by then.

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

Wait ’till the end! I hate to be spoiled and the last lines of a book are my favorite ones 9 times out of 10.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

I do not mind them. As a consumer, I rarely read them. However, as an author, I think it’s a great way to give recognition to the people who have helped and inspired you.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

100% No questions asked, I would switch places with Tessa Gray from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. The one character I love more than any other is Jem Carstairs, and she is graced with his presence throughout his entire life and I am so jealous of that!

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

Seeing my copies of City of Bones by Cassandra Clare reminds me of my best friend, Alexis, because if not for her I would have never read my all time favorite series (The Infernal Devices.) She pushed me for years to read The Mortal Instruments but I never thought it was something I’d be interested in–but when I heard about TID I jumped at the opportunity to read it and I’ve been in love ever since! And, well.. look at me now. 

FullSizeRender.jpg-1.jpeg

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

The only book I can say that I’ve acquired in an interesting way is my copy of Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. I originally requested an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) of Nevernight to review here on my blog and well, I never thought they would have sent it to me! Unfortunately, I never got around to reading past a couple chapters because I hit a real rough patch in my life. Hopefully I can get to it soon because the short bit I did read was phenomenal.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

I’ve never given a book away, because I am very protective of my books. However, I have bought books for people that are very important to me because I thought they just had to read them.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

That awkward moment when you don’t go anywhere, so your books don’t leave… haha.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I was a total book nerd, even in high school, and I always loved my required readings! But the ones that were bad… stayed bad.

14. Used or brand new?

I have PLENTY of both.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Not yet! But I own The Da Vinci Code, so we will see if I ever do.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

Ummmm… Fifty Shades? *Insert monkey covering his eyes here*

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Not particularly.

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

Emmmabooks on Youtube, Rebecca, and Danielle, for sure.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

I honestly have not started reading things outside of my comfort zone, but I have a feeling Illuminae will be one of those books that I do end up loving.

 

So there it is, you guys! I hope you enjoyed my answers for this tag and I look forward to seeing everyone else answers! If I don’t tag you, feel free to leave your answers in the comments so I can still see what you have to say! 🙂

I’m tagging: Rachael, Melissa, Nicole, and Shikha

Thanks so much for reading, everyone! Check out my links here on my blog to find me on Instagram and Twitter so we can stay connected!

Xoxo Karleigh ♡

Leave a Reply

